Gorgo.Live.ToString()

Mariusz, Gorzoch tech Blog

Active directory group policies – how to enumerate them without admin rights

leave a comment »

Today I came across problem with my Internet Explorer 8, where I want to check why some of the intranet sites are shown into compatibility mode, where according to browser setting they should not. As none of the browser setting point to it I suspected that this can get to me machine thru group policies. Unfortunately as I do not have admin rights on AD I had a problem how to enumerate them. Happily there is tool called rsop.msc (start->run->rsop.msc) with you can start and it will show you all active directory group policies applied to your machine/your user.

So, once I’ve started the tool I get screen as bellow:

image

I dig into “Internet explorer settings” (here is brief description of all possible group policies for IE : http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc985351.aspx ), and get to the screens shown bellow:

image

and now I know who did it to me 🙂

Written by Mariusz Gorzoch

29 November 2010 at 17:07

Posted in Bez kategorii

Leave a Reply

